Brooks & Dunn Reboot Review

Brooks & Dunn Reboot Album Cover

Have you ever wondered what would happen if you took one of the greatest duos in country music, put together a collection of their biggest hits, then added in a number of guest stars to perform with them? Well if you have then lucky for you Brooks and Dunn have the answer.

The duo has released their long-awaited “reboot” album. The 12 song album sees the due perform a number of hits. Each one with a different guest star. With the voices of Luke Combs, Brothers Osborne, Midland, LANCO, Ashley, McBryde, Kacey Musgraves and more lending their vocal talent.

The Album starts with Luke Combs joining the duo for a rendition of “Brand New Man.” This was one of the pre-release songs. I can honestly say since the pre-release this song has gotten a lot of playtime on my iPhone. The song is full of energy and really sets the tone for what’s going to follow.

Next up with have Brett Young lending his voice to “Ain’t Nothing ‘Bout you” and Jon Pardi in “My Next Broken Heart” before moving onto one of my favourite Brooks and Dunn songs “Neon Moon” Kacey Musgraves is the guest artist for this song. She sounds fantastic. Sitting and listening to this song makes me remember just how damn good Kacey vocals are. It’s certainly a favourite of mine on the album.

“Lost and Found” is up next with Tyler Booth before we get two groups of men singing “Hard Workin Man” with Brothers Osborne. This song is really like the past meeting the present. Brothers Osborne are arguably the best current duo alongside the former. It’d make for a fun track to listen to.

Following that is one of the hottest artists in country music Ashley McBryde lending her voice to “You’re Gonna Miss Me When I’m Gone”. As a big fan of Ashley, I was looking forward to this song. I can say it doesn’t disappoint. This song seems to really suit Ashley and her vocal style. Out of an album full of great songs, this takes the award of my favorite.

“My Maria” is up next with Thomas Rhett. Another fun song on the album which is followed by “Red Dirt Road” with Cody Johnson before we get to “Boot Scootin Boogie” with Midland. I think Midland is a good choice for this good old Honky Tony Song having just released their own in Mr. Lonely, which we recently reviewed. This is a song that wouldn’t feel out of place on a Midland show. I am kind of hoping they included this on their set when they tour in December.

The final two songs are “Mama Don’t Get Dressed Up For Nothing” with LANCO and rounding out the album is “Believe” with Kane Brown.

I have only had the chance to listen to this album a couple of times through while traveling to work but so far really enjoying this. It’s a great tribute to 90’s country that sees some new takes on classic songs. I honestly don’t think any album that’s released this year is going to top this. It’s that good.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.